Posted in Uncategorized

Two sides to the same coin…

Some things just come slowly and soak into you… some hit you like a storm and make an impact… and some just are so silent that you have to pause and listen.

This one hit me silently and astonished me with my own thoughts. Its just incredible how the simplest things can be so profound. This is what kept playing in my head- like an old radio playing a favorite song over and over again. And then it stays in your mind, never leaving… playing again and again and again…

I thought:

It’s amazing how little things can make you feel happy and how little you need to be satisfied and comfortable.

First was in a village where we go for our CAS where I saw the house of a mad old lady which was nothing but a shack which was overcrowded even with the few things she had. And then I saw the woman- bubbly and smiling, going about unhindered by her 90yr old body and driven by her lively spirit. The people of her village might call her mad but I wonder, if she was one person who had really attained Nirvana- the state of satisfied bliss and fulfillment. Mad indeed, while brimming with bliss.

It didn’t take a lot for her to live; as we probably don’t need much either. I mean, I could probably be happy with nothing but a notebook, a pen, my camera and trekking shoes. Food, shelter and water would be found in nature without much difficulty. Then again, I’m probably the most happy in the forests…

Author:

YouTuber, Blogger, Rotaractor, Mountaineer, Writer, Crazy, Whovian

One thought on “Two sides to the same coin…

  1. The Vagabond

    Give to me the life I love,
    Let the lave go by me,
    Give the jolly heaven above
    And the byway nigh me.
    Bed in the bush with stars to see,
    Bread I dip in the river –
    There’s the life for a man like me,
    There’s the life for ever.

    Let the blow fall soon or late,
    Let what will be o’er me;
    Give the face of earth around
    And the road before me.
    Wealth I seek not, hope nor love,
    Nor a friend to know me;
    All I seek, the heaven above
    And the road below me.

    Or let autumn fall on me
    Where afield I linger,
    Silencing the bird on tree,
    Biting the blue finger.
    White as meal the frosty field –
    Warm the fireside haven –
    Not to autumn will I yield,
    Not to winter even!

    Let the blow fall soon or late,
    Let what will be o’er me;
    Give the face of earth around,
    And the road before me.
    Wealth I ask not, hope nor love,
    Nor a friend to know me;
    All I ask, the heaven above
    And the road below me.

    Robert Louis Stevenson

    Like

Leave a Reply

