Posted in Uncategorized

My Memorable Trek

Experience is the best teacher, they say. And so is introspection. It is true for I have realized that some things just get imbibed in us as we experience things and then they become a part of us.
Hari Om and Good Morning.
I have always been confused as to who my hero is- Chhatrapati Shivaji Maharaj, the warrior king of Maharashtra or my father? My father is a professional mountaineer and I am an amateur. I have learnt numerous things through trekking and I can probably say that I have learnt much, much more in the forests than I could ever learn in the concrete jungles of today. Trekking is my passion and most of the treks I have done are to the forts of Shivaji Maharaj. My talk today is about my life trying to conquer these forts and reliving the life of my hero- Shivaji Maharaj- in a miniature form with my personal mortal hero- my father.
I would like to share with you, one of my major experiences.
I clearly remember that trek-we were going to Naneghat. It was only my parents and I. That trek is a 3 day walk where you cover Naneghat and Jivadhan. That trek is considered difficult even for veterans, and here we were going all the way up, with a struggling 7yr old- me. But it was not named the most difficult for no reason; we had our share of difficulties. Covering Naneghat and Jivadhan in 3 days itself was difficult. The three days went in jiffy as all I could probably do was look at the surroundings soaking nature in all the forms it presented itself to me and on reaching the pinnacle I didn’t even get to meet my him- Chhatrapati Shivaji Maharaj. The third day while on Jivadhan- our destination- and I was filled with awe and wonder as I looked down a gigantic cliff and wondered how only 2 days of walking could bring me so high. Standing on the peak of that massive and bare piece of rock, I felt miniscule. But I wasn’t scared, not one bit, but felt only peace and gratitude that I was lucky enough to be granted life- to be a part of something so huge, amazing, beautiful and important.
The long walk back was back breaking and we had our limbs aching. It was very tiring and after an endless haul we finally reached the bus stop…..exhausted only to learn that the bus had left. We started walking on the main road but it was well into the night now. The road was very dangerous, so no one car stopped to give us a lift. We were about to give up and camp on the road for the night, when a car came and stopped to give us a lift. All that I know about that part of the story is that the angel that night who gave us a lift was a doctor from Mumbai who having a kind empathetic heart gave us the mountaineers a lift…we were indeed grateful.
After 8 yrs now when I look back at that night I realize how much the experience had taught me.
I learnt that if an entire task seems unconquerable then instead of being de-motivated, one must concentrate on putting the next step forward with something one likes, such as the stories in my case, and one shall reach the goal eventually and even if one feels pain, instead of moaning, one should keep one’s mind busy and one will not even notice when the pain evaporates. A very important learning is that sometimes, one just doesn’t have the option of people attending to us, for their need is greater than ours. One just has to learn to accept that and help them instead of being conceited and selfish. Another thing I learnt from the last episode was that when one is diligent and working really hard, God sends an angel our way to help us- even though the angel in question might not know the role he has played in our life. The last but not the least is, of course, that my father continues to be my true hero and if it were not for him then I wouldn’t have been who I am today. So I continue to scale new heights for who knows I might still meet my knight Chhatrapati Shivaji on a mountain just here…in our sight!

Author:

YouTuber, Blogger, Rotaractor, Mountaineer, Writer, Crazy, Whovian

2 thoughts on “My Memorable Trek

  1. i will have to commend your father, and you, who gives him his rightful love and respect!

    we love trekking too…Vedica loves going on the “harder” ones with me…guess all father-daughters share this beautiful relationship!

    Like

Leave a Reply

