Posted in Pandora's Box

Last Christmas

These were my summer vacations and I was desperately in need of them. I needed to be away from Abhinav and all the places that reminded me of him. The sad part was that I had spent nights on my bed talking to him last winter vacations. I had spent my days chatting with him everywhere in my locality. I even spoke to him at my aunt’s place. It’s not really as if I needed a stimulus to think of him. It was like inertia. No matter what I was thinking, I ended up thinking of him. I had one second of free time my thought drifted away to Abhinav. Every song reminded me of him. I had a tough time finally deciding that I should move on.

The only song that kept going on in my head was Last Christmas by Wham-

*

Last Christmas
I gave you my heart
But the very next day you gave it away.
This year
To save me from tears
I’ll give it to someone special.

Once bitten and twice shy
I keep my distance
But you still catch my eye.
Tell me, baby,
Do you recognize me?
Well,
It’s been a year,
It doesn’t surprise me
(Merry Christmas)

I wrapped it up and sent it
With a note saying, “I love you,”
I meant it
Now I know what a fool I’ve been.
But if you kissed me now
I know you’d fool me again.

[Chorus 2x]

Oh, oh, baby.

A crowded room,
Friends with tired eyes.
I’m hiding from you
And your soul of ice.
My god I thought you were someone to rely on.
Me? I guess I was a shoulder to cry on.

A face on a lover with a fire in his heart.
A man under cover but you tore me apart, ooh-hoo.
Now I’ve found a real love, you’ll never fool me again.

[Chorus 2x]

A face on a lover with a fire in his heart (I gave you my heart)
A man under cover but you tore him apart
Maybe next year I’ll give it to someone
I’ll give it to someone special.

Special…
Someone…

*

I had to be strict with myself and remind myself- Vaidehi! Be strong! Keep yourself busy!

Keeping yourself busy always worked, people said. But wasn’t that just a form of Escapism?

I kept myself busy though. I met an old friend of mine, Pratika. She helped me a lot.

She had a simple funda- Recount everything, from beginning to end. For the last time. And then flush it out of the system.

And then started the process of recounting the entire story of my latest love…

Author:

YouTuber, Blogger, Rotaractor, Mountaineer, Writer, Crazy, Whovian

Leave a Reply

