Posted in Pandora's Box

The Confession

I was still hobbling when I woke up and made my way to the deck with Shraddha. And as soon as we reached up we emitted the most heart-breaking and enormous groans ever! Everyone turned to look at us with the same forlorn faces that we soon wore ourselves. THE WATER HAD TURNED GREEN AGAIN! And even though that’s the color of the water that we were generally used to, it seemed to be the biggest punishment of our lives. It was a sickly sludgy green that was our worst nightmare. We spent the next hour groaning and complaining about the color of the water and how disastrous it was!

Shraddha: Hello?? What do you mean by WE? I remember snapping at you to shut up!

Vaidehi: OK, fine! ‘I’ kept on going! Coz it was heart breaking, okay?

Anyways, I was soon joined by Abhinav who inquired about my toe and my sleep. Reassuring him about my health, we stood looking at the water with apprehension. This had probably been the best time of our lives, which was now about to come to an end. This led to our conversation; I remember it as if it had happened yesterday.

Me: I don’t like going back Abhinav…

Abhi: I don’t either… I could stay in Lakshadweep forever.

Me: Do you realize we are going back to school, and masquerade and studies?

Abhi: I know… I’m excited for the masquerade but I don’t want this to end either…

Me: Abhi? It means going back to only 5mins of time with each other a day walking to lunch…

Abhi: Hmmm… I don’t like that prospect. I liked the time we spent here. 5mins is too less.

Me: Hmmm… I don’t wanna go back Abhi…

Abhi: Me neither… I like spending time with you (and he looked towards me).

Me: (looked at him and then looked away) I have a little problem.

Abhi: With?

Me: You.

Abhi: Me! What did I do? What happened?

Me: (silent for a while, then looked at him): I like you but I have a boyfriend…

Pratika: WHAT??!!! What the hell? Who the hell?

Vaidehi: Oh, I was dating Keshav then. It was a long distance relationship and it was seriously NOT working out. I was on the verge of breaking up with Keshav then anyway. So,

Abhi: I have the same problem, you know. I can’t do anything because you have a boyfriend. Otherwise, I would’ve asked you out long time back. What am I supposed to do?

Me: I know, I’m sorry…

There was a considerable length of silence after this…

Me: Abhi? Are you willing to wait? Let me just sort this out… Let me sort myself out…

Abhi: Yeah… If I’ve waited for so long, why not more? Then maybe later…

We blushed together staring out into the ocean. And I realized that this trip had indeed become the biggest blessing of my life…

Author:

YouTuber, Blogger, Rotaractor, Mountaineer, Writer, Crazy, Whovian

Leave a Reply

